Adults in Alabama can purchase a handgun from a private individual without a permit, going through a background check, or registering your firearm. To buy a handgun from a licensed dealer, you must be at least 21 years old and will need to go through a background check. Once you possess a firearm, there are still more Alabama gun laws to follow regarding where you can take it (loaded and unloaded) and whether you can conceal your weapon or not.
You can also be charged with a crime if the police believe you used your firearm in a criminal or criminally negligent manner. Our criminal defense lawyers are well versed in Alabama’s gun laws for pistols, revolvers, rifles, shotguns, semi-automatic firearms, and other weapons.
As long as you are 19 and able to possess a firearm legally, you can openly carry a firearm in Alabama without a permit. However, there are restrictions as to where you can take your openly carried firearm, including schools and courthouses. If you take a firearm into a place where it is not allowed, you can be arrested and charged with a crime.
To obtain a concealed carry permit in Jefferson County, Shelby County, or any other location in Alabama, you must apply with the county sheriff.
Alabama is a “shall issue” state. If you meet all of the requirements for a CCW permit, it must be issued or renewed under AL Code §13A-11-75. Alabama’s concealed carry age is 19 years old. If you are at least 19 years old, a U.S. citizen or lawful immigrant, then you can apply for a permit in the county where you reside.
Other requirements for a concealed carry permit include:
The sheriff has the right to deny you a permit if you are prohibited from owning a firearm by state or federal law, or if the sheriff has a reasonable suspicion you may use the weapon unlawfully or endanger yourself or others.
When determining whether your permit request should be denied, the sheriff will consider whether you:
No safety or training course is required to obtain a permit.
If you are arrested in Alabama for carrying a concealed weapon on your person or for having a loaded firearm in your vehicle without a current, valid concealed carry permit, contact a concealed carry lawyer immediately.
Under AL Code §13A-11-50, you can be fined between $50 and $500 and incarcerated in the county jail or sentenced to hard labor for the county for up to six months.
At Alabama Criminal Lawyers, we understand these situations regularly arise out of misunderstandings. You may have intended to openly carry your handgun in a lawful manner. You may also have, in good faith, believed your permit to be current.
Our CCW lawyers will thoroughly review the allegations against you and defend you against a gun crime conviction.
It depends. If the alleged victim of the domestic violence obtained a protective order against you, you may not be allowed to possess any firearms. If you are convicted of misdemeanor or felony domestic violence, you cannot lawfully possess or own a gun.
Open carry of a firearm is legal in Alabama without a permit, though certain places are off limits. To carry a handgun concealed on your person, you must have a valid Pistol Permit. If you carry a gun concealed on your person without a permit, you face an unclassified misdemeanor offense, punishable by up to six months in county jail or hard labor and fines up to $500.
In limited circumstances, a person convicted of a felony or misdemeanor domestic violence in Alabama can have their gun rights restored. You would need to have the conviction overturned on appeal or gain a full pardon.
If you allegedly possessed or used a gun during the commission of a felony, this is an aggravating factor. If you are convicted of the felony, the presence of a firearm, whether lawfully owned or not, can be used as a reason to give you a tougher sentence.