Have you been accused of shoplifting a few items or committing a more serious theft offense? We recommend calling Alabama Criminal Lawyers to speak with a knowledgeable and experienced theft lawyer.
Alabama takes theft very seriously. You face jail time for theft worth under $500—the lowest possible theft offense. You also face years in prison, probation, and high fines for a theft that constitutes a felony. Given the harsh penalties for theft, you need a skilled criminal defense lawyer to defend you.
In Alabama, theft of property and theft of services can be charged in the first, second, third, or fourth degrees. Whether you face a misdemeanor or felony theft charge depends on what you stole and its value.
If you are accused of stealing another person’s property or services, then you should contact a theft attorney as soon as possible. You need to discuss the differences among first-, second-, third-, and fourth-degree theft in Alabama, including the potential penalties.
You face jail time, even for misdemeanor theft, and you need to work with someone who can aggressively defend you against these charges.
You may be accused of another type of theft crime in Alabama. Whatever the specific charge and the misdemeanor or felony class, call Alabama Criminal Lawyers to speak with a theft lawyer right away.
We can defend you against any theft and theft-related charges, including:
Alabama does not have a separate shoplifting statute. Instead, shoplifting is charged as theft of property. Whether you face a misdemeanor or felony charge depends on the items stolen and their value.
You can be charged with robbery in the first, second, or third-degree if you steal property directly from another person. You will face first-degree robbery if you are armed with a deadly weapon or cause another person serious physical injury. This is a Class A felony.
You will face a Class B felony for second-degree robbery if you use force against another person to overcome their physical resistance or threaten to use imminent force, and you are aided by another person. If you use force or threats to obtain property without assistance, then this is robbery in the third degree and a Class C felony.
You can face charges for first-degree burglary if you knowingly and unlawfully enter a dwelling with the intent to commit a crime inside, and you are armed with explosives, cause physical injury to another person, or are armed with a deadly weapon and use or threaten to use it. This is a Class A felony.
If you perform this offense in a building other than a dwelling, or if you break into a dwelling to commit a theft or felony inside without a weapon or causing injury, then you will be charged with a Class B felony for second-degree burglary. If you knowingly enter or remain in a dwelling, occupied building, or unoccupied building to commit a crime, then you face a Class C felony for third-degree burglary.
The level of a shoplifting charge depends on the value of the property stolen. Whether you are charged with a misdemeanor or felony, you face time in jail. When the merchandise is valued at less than $500, you face a Class A misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to one year in jail. If convicted of felony theft, you face years in prison.
Theft can be charged as a misdemeanor or felony, depending on the value of the property or services unlawfully obtained. If you stole property valued between $500 and $1,000, you face a Class D felony. Property valued between $1,500 and $2,500 is a Class C felony. Property valued over $2,500 or theft of a vehicle is a Class B felony.
Robbery is the offense of unlawfully taking property directly from another person. It is considered a theft offense. Burglary encompasses unlawfully entering into or remaining in a structure with the intent to commit a crime inside. It is considered a crime against property.