Following a sex crime accusation, it may seem like all hope is lost. Although the future may seem bleak, there are ways in which we can help you overcome your charges to avoid a life-altering conviction.
As experienced Alabama sex crime lawyers, we have represented countless clients throughout Birmingham, Columbiana, Montgomery, and the state of Alabama against all types of sex crime charges. Our criminal defense lawyers know what is involved in defending people against both state and federal sex crimes, and can make sure you have the tough, uncompromising defense you need throughout the criminal process!
Contact Alabama Criminal Lawyers today at (205) 981-2450 for a free consultation.
Sex crimes range from rape to child molestation, prostitution, and sexual abuse.
When facing these accusations, it is imperative that you have a strong defense attorney because even the hint of a sexual offense could ruin your reputation forever, even if you are proven innocent.
At Alabama Criminal Lawyers, we have years of experience in this area of law and understand how to best protect those who have been arrested or charged.
This includes any sexual contact or intercourse with a minor who is under the age of 12. This offense is taken extremely seriously in Alabama and if you are convicted, you could be left dealing with up to 10 years in prison and fines of up to $60,000. Whether you were falsely accused or know that you have made a mistake, you need a strong representative on your side throughout every stage of your case.
If you were accused of manufacturing, distributing, or possessing any form of sexually explicit material containing a child, you could be facing charges of child pornography. Any printed material or video which contains a child could constitute child pornography, even if the individual did not know that the individual was underage.
Every year, people are falsely accused of date rape. To ensure that you are not sent to prison for something that you did not do, you need to ensure that you have an aggressive defense attorney on your side. Many of these cases involve the alleged victim’s word and the alleged offender’s word against the other and it can be difficult to prove. In order to avoid a lifetime in prison, you should contact our team as soon as possible.
Sexual exploitation refers to the crime of persuading or forcing another into prostitution, child pornography, or sex trafficking. This crime is treated very seriously under Alabama law and it is crucial that you have an experienced lawyer on your side if you are facing these types of accusations. Whether the victim was an adult or a child, you could be put in prison for life.
One of the penalties for a sex crime conviction is mandatory registration as a sex offender. If you fail to comply with the regulations surrounding the registry, you could be further punished. Once you have been released from jail or prison, you will have seven days in which to register. Not only that but every year, they have to re-register with the sheriff’s office.
Indecent exposure is a misdemeanor crime that includes exposing oneself in a public place. This is usually done in order to cause offense to those around them or for their own sexual gratification. This could include public nudity or sexual acts with another person. You could be facing up to one year in jail as well as $6,000 in fines if you are found guilty.
Under Alabama law, the act of engaging in sexual activity with another in exchange for money or another commodity is known as prostitution. It does not matter if the individual is above the age of consent or engaged in the activities consensually, it could still be punished harshly. Whether you were accused of hiring a prostitute or working as a prostitute, please do not waste any time in getting in touch with my team.
When a person is released from jail or prison after serving a sentence for a sex crime, they will have seven days in which to registry as a sex offender. Having to register as a sex offender brings with is certain stipulations and restrictions, such as limiting where you can live and where you can work.
What is sexual abuse? Any unwanted sexual contact that is against the victim’s will could constitute sexual abuse. First-degree sexual abuse could result in up to 10 years in prison as well as $15,000 in fines. A conviction of second-degree sexual abuse could result in up to one year in county jail and $6,000 in fines.
Were you accused of sodomy? Under Alabama law, the crime of sodomy could result in up to 20 years in prison as well as $30,000 in fines. If the individual is accused of first-degree sodomy, the penalties could increase to up to life imprisonment and $60,000 in fines.
If you were accused of enticing a child under the age of 16 into having sexual intercourse, you could be facing charges of solicitation of minors. Those convicted of solicitation of minors could be left facing a conviction that includes $15,000 in fines, forfeiture of assets, and a permanent place on the sex offender registry.
When an adult engages in sexual intercourse with a minor under the age of consent, they could be accused of statutory rape. Even if the act was consensual and even within a romantic relationship, it could still be counted as rape.
Even if you have not been arrested yet, but suspect that you are under investigation for a sex crime, now is the time to start defending yourself. Who you choose to defend you can and will make all the difference in the outcome, so make sure that you choose wisely.
No matter where you are in Alabama, we can come to your assistance. We understand that these cases often rest on one person’s word against the other’s. Although it is always crucial that the victim is protected, sometimes the victim is the accused.
If you have been accused of a sex crime, your rights, future, and reputation are in jeopardy. Even people who are eventually cleared of their charges have a difficult time shedding the stigma attached to most sex crimes.
For people who are actually convicted of a sex crime, their life will never be the same again. Not only can they expect to face discrimination and ostracism once they have been released from prison, but they will also likely be sentenced to penalties that are unreasonably harsh for the crime at hand.
Common penalties for a sex crime conviction include:
The specific penalties will vary depending on the nature of the offense you were charged with. First of all, depending on whether the offense was a misdemeanor or a felony, you could be put in county jail or state prison for years. Not only that, but you could be facing thousands of dollars in fines.
As an example, the law allows for those convicted of child molestation to be fined up to $60,000. However, as life-changing as these penalties can be, the penalty with the most permanent consequences is placement on the sex offender registry. This public record will include the name, photograph, address, and details of the conviction.
Child molestation is charged as rape and is any type of sexual contact or sexual intercourse with a minor who is under the age of 12. If someone is accused of child molestation, they could be placed in prison for up to ten years as well as charged up to $60,000.
Another sex crime involves child pornography. This could be possession, dissemination, production, or selling child pornography. Anyone convicted of knowingly possessing any child pornography will be guilty of a Class C felony. The prison time for a Class C felony is a minimum of 1 year and 1 day and no more than 10 years.
Indecent exposure is a misdemeanor and is defined as exposing one’s genitals in public with the intention of offending those around them or for their own sexual gratification. Those convicted of indecent exposure could be facing up to a year in jail and a $6,000 fine.
In Alabama, it is not only illegal to engage in prostitution but to hire a prostitute as well. Any situations which include engaging in sexual activity for some type of compensation fall into the category of prostitution. As a Class A misdemeanor, the most serious type of misdemeanor, someone who is found guilty could be sent to jail for up to one year.
Statutory rape differs from child molestation in that even though the victim is under the age of consent, they are over the age of twelve. Another important element that sets statutory rape apart is that no force or violence has to be present.
The individuals involved could have been in a dating relationship and the minor may have given their consent to engage in sexual intercourse, but in the eyes of the law, they are not able to give consent.
In Alabama, this is a second-degree rape and a Class B felony. A Class B felony has a minimum prison sentence of 2 years but can increase to 20 years.
One of the results of a sex crime conviction is having to permanently register as a sex offender. Even after the individual has completed their sentence, they will always have to supply their address to the government so that members of the public can be aware of the sex offenders in the area.
Upon release from prison, they will have seven days in which to register with the sheriff’s office where they will be living. This will have to be repeated once a year within seven days of their birthday. If the person violates any of the terms of their registration, they could be subject to further charges.
For example, if they failed to update their address, lived in too close a proximity to a school, worked somewhere there was likely to be children or lived with a minor under the age of 12, they could be facing serious consequences. To avoid this, it is in your best interest to have a member of our team on your side.
The age in which individuals can lawfully consent to sexual intercourse is 16 years.
You can face rape charges for consensual activity if you are 16 years or older and have intercourse with an individual 15 years or younger. This is usually charged as rape in the second degree, which is a Class B felony. You can be sentenced to between two and 20 years in prison.
Second-degree rape constitutes an individual who is 16 years or older engaging in sexual intercourse with a member of the opposite sex who is 13-15 years old, provided that the actor is at least two years older than the opposite sex. First-degree rape constitutes an individual engaging in sexual intercourse with a member of the opposite sex by forcible compulsion; when the victim is incapable of consent; or when the victim is a member of the opposite sex and younger than 12 years old.
No, a few sex offenses are misdemeanors. For example, sexual misconduct and indecent exposure are Class A misdemeanors.
If you are accused of sexual abuse of a child younger than 12 years or any other sex offense, you need to contact a lawyer right away. Most sex crimes are felonies, and the penalties can be harsh, including mandatory sex offender registration. In addition to calling a lawyer, do not speak with the police. Politely decline to answer any questions. If you are arrested, invoke your rights to remain silent and have an attorney. Also, do not speak to the accuser. Do not reach out or respond to any communications by them or their close friends or relatives.
Failure to register as a sex offender is a Class C felony, punishable by up to 10 years in prison.