How Do Ignition Interlocks Work?

Posted by Steve Eversole | Aug 09, 2015 | 0 Comments

Ignition interlock device 640x443

Ignition Interlocks Technology seems to be helping decrease drunk driving fatalities across the United States.

A recent survey by Impact DWI, Inc. shows that there are nearly 305,000 ignition interlock devices in use in the United States. The survey also shows that the number of drunk driving fatalities has been decreasing in states that have strict interlock devices usage laws by as much as 30%.

An ignition interlock device is a device that is wired into the ignition system of a motor vehicle. The device analyzes the driver's breath to determine how much alcohol the driver has in their system. If the device detects a blood level above a certain level, in the state of Alabama the level is .02 or more, the vehicle will not start.

The device also keeps track of other things such as engine restarts and vehicle run times; all of this information is recorded and tracked by the device. All recorded activity goes to the driver's probation officer, sometimes the information is sent directly in real time, other times the information is sent monthly. While other people may drive the vehicle, the person who the device was installed for will be held responsible for all violations.

If you have 4 positive tests in a one month period, you may be in violation of your probation. If you tamper with the device or fail to get it re-calibrated as directed, you may also be in violation. Monthly recalibration usually costs around $75.00 per month.
Having an ignition interlock device allows people who have been convicted of DUIs the ability to drive, while making sure they are not able to drive drunk.

If you have been previously convicted of a DUI in Alabama within the past five years and are being charged again, the interlock device is mandatory. You will have to have the device installed once you finish your driver's license suspension.

The ignition interlock is mandatory if you meet any of the following conditions and you are a first-time offender:

• A BAC of .15 or greater.
• You refuse to take a breath test.
• You were driving with a passenger younger than 14.
• You caused an injury to someone other than yourself.

Some mandatory sentences are for 2 years, but can vary and may be as little as 6 months. Mandatory sentences will be extended for certain violations. Repeat offenses result in longer terms.

If you are required to use ignition interlock device and refuse to have one installed, you may run the risk of fines, jail time and your insurance premiums may increase.

Contact Criminal Defense Lawyer Birmingham Steven Eversole toll-free, fill out our confidential online case evaluation form or visit our office in downtown Birmingham.

Birmingham DUI Attorney — (866) 831-5292 — Free Consultation

About the Author

Steve Eversole

Admitted to practice in All State and Federal Courts in Alabama: AllAlabama State Courts, Alabama Supreme Court, Alabama Court of Appeals,Northern...

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

We serve the following localities:

Birmingham, Jefferson County including Bessemer, Homewood, Hoover, Irondale, Leeds, Mountain Brook, Trussville, and Vestavia Hills, Shelby County (including Pelham, Alabaster, Chelsea, Calera), Tuscaloosa, Auburn, Huntsville, Calhoun County including Anniston, Etowah County including Boaz and Gadsden, Cullman County including Arab and Cullman, Madison County including Huntsville and Madison, Montgomery County including Montgomery, and all of Alabama.

Menu

<-- Added by Jen Thoma 6/20/17 in HelpScout Ticket 8087 -->