Alabama DUI frequently asked questions part II:
- What is the legal blood alcohol limit in Alabama? The legal blood alcohol limit in Alabama is .08%. This means that if your blood alcohol is at .08% or higher, you can be charged with driving under the influence in Alabama.
- What are the penalties for one Alabama DUI conviction? One Alabama DUI conviction has serious consequences. Just one conviction exposes you to public ridicule, court costs, could land you in for a year, a ninety-day license suspension, up to a $2100 fine, DUI school, possible loss of job or security clearance at work.
- If I lose my license, can I get a temporary license for work? Unfortunately and unfairly no, you cannot get a temporary license to drive to work in Alabama. This is just one more reason why it is imperative to aggressively fight your DUI charge.
- Will a DUI conviction affect my car insurance? Absolutely yes. In fact, your car insurance will most likely be canceled and you will be required to purchase high risk insurance that is very expensive.
- What is the difference between a license suspension for a DUI conviction and an Alabama administrative license suspension? In Alabama, they like to punish people twice for the same offense. An Alabama administrative license suspension occurs if you have been arrested for a DUI regardless of whether or not you have been found guilty of a DUI. In fact, your license will be suspended before you are even tried. If you are arrested for a DUI in Alabama, you must make a formal application to challenge your license suspension within ten days of your arrest. Otherwise, your license will be suspended for 90 days. This is just one more reason why you should contact an Alabama DUI lawyer and attorney as soon as possible after your arrest.